Home News ChBA Elections 2020 - Nominations

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


ChBA Elections 2020 - Nominations





FOR THE YEAR 2020-2021

NOMINATIONS for election are invited and must be received by the Honorary Secretary no later than 4 p.m. on Friday 5 June 2020 for the Officers, that is the Chair, Vice-Chair, Hon. Secretary, Treasurer and the Seminar Secretary, and the following ordinary members of the Committee:

1 Silk

2 Juniors over 7 years’ call

2 Juniors under 7 years’ call

A nomination form is can be found by clicking below. Nominations must be in writing and submitted to the Honorary Secretary at 4 Stone Buildings, Lincoln’s Inn, London WC2A 3XT or by email at a.markham@4stonebuildings.com. The Rules require each nomination to be signed by the nominee and five current members of the ChBA, not including the nominee.

For the purposes of the 2020-21 election, and so as to comply with the Rules, the Honorary Secretary is of the view that the requirement for such signatures will be satisfied by (a) the typing by the nominee of their name by way of signature on the nomination form and (b) the creation of an email chain by the circulation of the nominee’s signed nomination form to five current members of the ChBA who each reply successively indicating that they nominate that candidate and that their email is to be treated as their signature (a suggested form of wording is set out at the end of the bulletin). Such an email chain will, when submitted on time (by email or otherwise) to the Honorary Secretary as a single document, constitute a valid nomination. For the avoidance of doubt the Honorary Secretary will also accept a nomination form duly completed by the inclusion of physical signatures and submitted on time, whether on paper or by email.

The Rules of the Chancery Bar Association are available on the Association’s website: www.chba.org.uk.

Anna Markham, Honorary Secretary

15 May 2020

The present Officers are:            

Eason Rajah QC (Chair)+
Amanda Hardy QC (Vice Chair)>
Anna Markham (Hon. Secretary)
Ian Clarke QC (Hon. Treasurer)
Richard Dew (Seminar Secretary)

The Officers must retire at the close of the Annual Meeting, but all are eligible for re-election.

The present ordinary members of the Committee are:

Andrew Twigger QC=, Janet Bignell QC, Andrew de Mestre QC, Nicola Rushton QC, Joseph Curl#, Joseph Ollech, Carly Sandbach, Julia Beer, Eleanor Holland^, Oliver Marre#, Albert Sampson.

+Officer not seeking re-election as Chair
>Officer not seeking re-election as Vice Chair
^Retiring committee member not standing for re-election
#Retiring committee member but eligible for re-election
=Retiring committee member not seeking re-election as an ordinary member of the committee

Please click here to download the nomination form.

Suggested form of wording for persons nominating a candidate by email:

“I, [name], a member of the ChBA nominate [name] for election to the Committee as [position] and confirm that this email is to be treated as my signature for the purposes of their nomination.”